l i n u x - u s e r s - g r o u p - o f - d a v i s
Next Meeting:
July 7: Social gathering
Next Installfest:
Latest News:
Jun. 14: June LUGOD meeting cancelled
Page last updated:
2011 Nov 02 13:45

The following is an archive of a post made to our 'vox mailing list' by one of its subscribers.

Report this post as spam:

(Enter your email address)
Re: [vox] bogus staffing company?
[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: [vox] bogus staffing company?

The sad thing is some legitimate websites are so full of meaningless
buzzwords that they're hard to distinguish from bogus sites. But in
this case it looks like they've had that domain registered since 2007
and have multiple listings across multiple employment sites, so I'm
guessing they're an actual company, just engaging in questionable
email practices.


On Wed, Nov 2, 2011 at 1:04 PM, Micah Cowan <micah@cowan.name> wrote:
> (11/02/2011 12:44 PM), Brian Lavender wrote:
>> I received what appears a bogus recruiting email from the following site.
>> http://www.itbrainiac.com
>> If you look at the website, it has no phone contact, names and appears to
>> be.... bogus.
> No phone contact? What about at
> http://www.itbrainiac.com/contact_us.html (via the "Contact Us" tab)?
> It doesn't strike me as all that unusual for names to be absent from a
> website... is there anything in particular that makes you think this is
> a bogus company? I don't see anything that strikes me as particularly
> odd (cursory look). Except that they don't seem to be in whitepages.com
> (but the number from their website maps to a NY, NY landline, matching
> their contact address).
>> The email doesn't address me and just lists the position.
> Is that unusual for recruiters? I get that sort of unsolicited (but
> apparently career-relevant), generic job offer all the time. All the
> less surprising if you consider they probably blast the mail to a
> prepared list of potentially-interested email addresses (culled from
> resumes?)
> --
> Micah J. Cowan
> http://micah.cowan.name/
> _______________________________________________
> vox mailing list
> vox@lists.lugod.org
> http://lists.lugod.org/mailman/listinfo/vox
vox mailing list

LUGOD Group on LinkedIn
Sign up for LUGOD event announcements
Your email address:
LUGOD Group on Facebook
'Like' LUGOD on Facebook:

Hosting provided by:
Sunset Systems
Sunset Systems offers preconfigured Linux systems, remote system administration and custom software development.

LUGOD: Linux Users' Group of Davis
PO Box 2082, Davis, CA 95617
Contact Us

LUGOD is a 501(c)7 non-profit organization
based in Davis, California
and serving the Sacramento area.
"Linux" is a trademark of Linus Torvalds.

Sponsored in part by:
Sunset Systems
Who graciously hosts our website & mailing lists!